Who are the Governing Body

The Governing Body consists of a group of people who can offer the school different areas of expertise. They ensure the school provides a good all-round education for all the children.  All governors are unpaid voluntary members taken from the local community. The role of the Governing Body is to work with the school to raise standards. This is done by agreeing school aims and values, reviewing policies and gathering evidence to ensure the strategy is being followed and hold the school management to account.

The Governing body meets six times each year and appoints working parties who folow up specific areas os school management and reports to the Governing Body.


All non-staff Governors have a link class at the school.  Regular visits are made to these link classes to check on the progress and implementation of the School Improvement Plan, as well as their understanding of school life.  The respective Governor then reports back to the Full Governing Body.  It is intended that the link Governor stays with the respective class throughout the school life to enable continuity and a better understanding of the attributes of each class.


Please remember if you have a concern about your child’s time at school then the correct route to express these concerns is with the class teacher or the head. Usually any problems are resolved without the involvement of the Governing Body.

School Governors

Chair: Ms Amanda Erasmus

Vice chair: Ms Elizabeth Maykels

Associate Members have no voting rights.

Full Governing Body

Date of Appt



at FGB Meetings


 Mrs Amanda Erasmus
15/05/2017 Co-Opted 4/6
 Mr Richard Page
02/03/2015 Parent Governor 6/6
Mr Selcuk Bir 10/12/2014 Parent Governor (Until Dec 2018)Associate Member (From Dec 2018) 3/6
 Ms Hannah Trickett 07/10/2014 Deputy Head
Associate Member (Until July 2018)

Head Teacher
(From Sept 2018)

 Mr John Fowler 29/09/2016 Co-Opted 3/6
 Mrs Claire Beaver
Mrs Beverly Cox
01/01/2016 Clerks to the Governors N/A
 Mr Phil Williams 27/09/2017 Co-opted Governor 4/6
 Rev’d Simon Cutmore  27/11/2017 Associate Member 3/5
 Mrs Jill Biss 15/05/2017 Co-Opted Non Teaching Governor 6/6
 Mrs Angela Killick 27 /11/2017 Associate Member 4/5
 Mrs Liz Maykels 27/11/2017 Associate Member (Until July 2018)
LEA (from Jul 2018)
 Mrs Laura Whyte 21/07/2018  Parent Governor   
 Mr Barry Munnelly 10/12/2018   Parent Governor  
 Ms Juliet Scourfield 21/07/2018  Teacher Governor   
 Mrs Anjali Majithia  10/07/2018 Associate Member   
 Mrs Emma Bailey 10/07/2018 Associate Member   
 Mr Duncan Roberts 03/10/2011 Head Teacher
(Until July 2018)
 Mr Nick Flint 23/01/2017 Teacher Governor
(Until July 2018)
 Mr Ben Tucker 10/11/2015 Parent Governor
(Resigned Nov 2018)
 Mr John Reynolds 02/11/2015 Parent Governor
(Resigned July 2018)
 Mrs Natalie Timoney 15/05/2017 Local Authority Governor (resigned July 2018) 3/6

*Head has no end date.   All other Term of Office is 4 years.

The Chair of Governors can be contacted via the post-box in the reception area, or by email:

 Register of Interests


Business/Pecuniary Interests

Other Governance Roles

Relationship between Governors/Staff

 Ms Amanda Erasmus None    
 Mr John Reynolds None    
 Mr Duncan Roberts None   Head Teacher
 Mr Selcuk Bir None    
 Mr Nick Flint None   Colleagues
 Ms Jill Biss None   Colleagues
 Mr Richard Page None    
 Mr. Phillip Williams None    
 Ms Angela Killick  None    
 Mr John Fowler School based consultancy    
 Ms Hannah Trickett None   Deputy Head
 Mr Ben Tucker Landscaping firm JBW Commercial Services Ltd and Willows Lakes Ltd and undertakes contracts for schools including Maple Cross    
 Mr Simon Cutmore Foundation Governor at St.Peter’s School, Mill End    
 Ms.Natalie Timoney None    
 Ms. Liz Maykles None    
 Ms Beverly Cox None    
 Ms Claire Beaver None    
 Mr Barry Munnelly  None    
 Ms Emma Bailey  None    
 Ms Anjali Majithia  None    
 Ms Juliet Scourfield  None    
 Mrs Laura Whyte  None